Staff

F5VC Staff Directory


Staff is working remotely in response to the pandemic. To contact staff members, please send them an email. If you need to meet in person, you may schedule an office visit by emailing assistant@first5ventura.org.

Call 805-648-9990 to leave a message in the general mailbox.

Petra Puls, MPA

Executive Director

If you have questions about the strategic direction of First 5 Ventura, please email Petra Puls. 

My favorite childhood lullaby is “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”! 

Program, Evaluation, and Community Initiatives

Tyla Adams, MPH, CHES

Program Manager

tadams@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about First 5’s Communications, Outreach, or Advocacy Efforts, please email Tyla Adams.

My favorite childhood song is “Isn’t She Lovely” by Stevie Wonder!

Janet Fleming, MA

Program Manager

jfleming@first5ventura.org

If you have any questions about local Early Childhood Education Initiatives, Shared Services or QRIS, please email Janet Fleming.

My favorite childhood book is Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina!

Heather Guerrero, M.A, IF-ECMHP

Director of Neighborhoods for Learning

hguerrero@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Neighborhoods for Learning, Parent and Child Together classes, or Parent Engagement, please email Heather Guerrero.

My favorite childhood book is Love you Forever by Robert Munsch!

Jimena Hernandez

Quality & Technical Assistance Coordinator

jhernandez@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Parent Engagement or Storytime, please email Jimena Hernandez.

My favorite childhood lullaby is “Duermete Mi Niño”! 

Andrew Huizar

Program Manager

ahuizar@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Neighborhoods for Learning or Parent and Child Together classes, please email Andrew Huizar.

My favorite childhood game is kickball! 

Jared Martin

Program Manager

jmartin@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Evaluation Design, Evidence-Based Practices, and Cross-Systems Collaboration, please email Jared Martin.

My favorite childhood activities are coloring and drawing! 

Sam McCoy

Director of Program and Evaluation

smccoy@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about First 5 Placed-Based Initiatives, Evaluation and Data Systems, please email Sam McCoy.

My favorite childhood book is Best Word Book Ever by Richard Scarry! 

Grace Montejano

Care Coordinator

gmontejano@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about the Help Me Grow Ventura County Telephone Help Line or Parent Navigation Services, please email Grace Montejano.

Administration, Finance, and Operations

John Anderson

Operations Manager

janderson@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Contracts, Amendments, or Apricot 360 Reporting, please email John Anderson.

My favorite childhood book is Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak! 

Lauren Arzu, MPA

Director of Human Resources and Operations

larzu@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Human Resources, Policy and Advocacy, or Communications, please email Lauren Arzu.

My favorite childhood book is Miss Spider’s Tea Party by David Kirk!

Amy Cook, MPH, MA

Project Manager

acook@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Human Resources and Recruiting, Prenatal Efforts, New Parent Kits, or Oral Health, please email Amy Cook.

My favorite childhood game is hide and seek!

Teresa Gutierrez

Fiscal Administrator

fiscaladministrator@
first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Funded Partners or Vendor payments, please email Teresa Gutierrez.

My favorite childhood lullaby is “When You Say Nothing at All” by Allison Krause! 

Jennifer Johnson

Director of Finance and Administration

jjohnson@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Finance or Administration, please email Jennifer Johnson.

My favorite childhood book is Elmer by David McKee!

Alma Perez

OFFICE COORDINATOR

aperez@first5ventura.org

If you have general questions such as accessing Neighborhoods for Learning services, Requesting Community Outreach Materials, or would like to Schedule an In-Person Appointment, please email Alma Perez.

My favorite childhood book is The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein! 

Christina Saenz

Fiscal Administrator

fiscaladministrator2@
first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Employee-related payments, please email Christina Saenz.

Neighborhoods for Learning

If you have questions about the strategic direction of the Neighborhoods for Learning program or general questions about the Parent and Child Together classes, please email Heather Guerrero or Andrew Huizar, respectively.

We are currently offering virtual and in-person PACT classes. If you have specific questions about our PACT classes, please send our NfL specialists an email. If you need to meet in person, you may schedule an office visit by emailing NfL@first5ventura.org.

Call 805-869-1317 to leave a message in the general mailbox.

Jhoelle Aspuria-Arca

NfL Administrator

jaspuria@first5ventura.org

Shelby Ferns, M.A.

NfL Administrator

sferns@first5ventura.org

Lilia Gurrola

NfL Administrator

Bilingual


lgurrola@first5ventura.org

Juana Chaparro

Senior Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


jchaparro@first5ventura.org

Sandra Diaz

Senior Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


sdiaz@first5ventura.org

Megan Switzler, M.A.

Senior Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

mswitzler@first5ventura.org

Elizabeth Cervantes

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


ecervantes@first5ventura.org

Tiffany Charaabi

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

tcharaabi@first5ventura.org

Joselyn Corado Cornejos, M.A.

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist 

Bilingual


jcornejos@first5ventura.org

Hope DeMoss

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

hdemoss@first5ventura.org

Daisy Gomez

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


dgomez@first5ventura.org

Elisheva Hollis, M.A.

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

ehollis@first5ventura.org

Veronica Reynoso

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


vreynoso@first5ventura.org

Margarita Valadez

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


mvaladez@first5ventura.org

Blanca Morales

Office Assistant

Bilingual


bmorales@first5ventura.org

Marilyn Rincon

Office Assistant

Bilingual


mrincon@firstventura.org

Nancy Uribe

Office Assistant

Bilingual


nuribe@first5ventura.org

Translate »