Staff

F5VC Staff Directory


To contact staff members, please send them an email. If you need to meet in person, you may schedule an office visit by emailing assistant@first5ventura.org.

Call 805-648-9990 to leave a message in the general mailbox.

Petra Puls, MPA

Executive Director

If you have questions about the strategic direction of First 5 Ventura, please email Petra Puls. 

My favorite childhood lullaby is “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”! 

Program, Evaluation, and Community Initiatives

Janet Fleming, MA

Program Manager

jfleming@first5ventura.org

If you have any questions about local Early Childhood Education Initiatives, Shared Services or QRIS, please email Janet Fleming.

My favorite childhood book is Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina!

Sharon Elmensdorp, Ph.D., BCBA-D

Program Manager

selmensdorp@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about training, technical assistance, and capacity-building strategies for early identification and intervention, please email Sharon Elmensdorp.

My favorite childhood book is  De Avonturen van Pinkeltje  (The Adventures of Pinkeltje)  by Dick Laan 

Christina Laubacher, MSW

Program Manager

claubacher@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Cross-Systems Collaboration or Prenatal Program Development, please email Christina Laubacher.

My favorite childhood book is Love You Forever by Robert Munsch!

Joanna Mackie, Ph.D., MPP

Program Manager

jmackie@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Parent Leadership Engagement, Infant Mental Health, Research & Evaluation involving Early Childhood Systems, please email Joanna Mackie.

My favorite childhood book is Lion by William Pène du Bois!

Sam McCoy

Director of Program and Evaluation

smccoy@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about First 5 Placed-Based Initiatives, Evaluation and Data Systems, please email Sam McCoy.

My favorite childhood book is Best Word Book Ever by Richard Scarry! 

Grace Montejano

Care Coordinator

gmontejano@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about the Help Me Grow Ventura County Telephone Help Line or Parent Navigation Services, please email Grace Montejano.

My favorite childhood book is The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister!

Mario Rodriguez, MBA

Program Manager

mrodriguez@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Neighborhoods for Learning, Welcome Every Baby, or Parent and Child Together classes, please email Mario Rodriguez.

My favorite childhood book is Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuess! 

Administration, Finance, and Operations

John Anderson

Operations Manager

janderson@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Contracts, Amendments, or Apricot 360 Reporting, please email John Anderson.

My favorite childhood book is Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak! 

Lauren Arzu, MPA

Director of Human Resources and Operations

larzu@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Human Resources, Policy and Advocacy, or Communications, please email Lauren Arzu.

My favorite childhood book is Miss Spider’s Tea Party by David Kirk!

Marisol Hernández

Human Resources Manager

mhernandez@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Human Resources or Recruiting, please email Marisol Hernández.

My favorite childhood book is Chicka Chicka Boom Boom written by Bill Martin, Jr. and John Archambault!

Jennifer Johnson

Director of Finance and Administration

jjohnson@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Finance or Administration, please email Jennifer Johnson.

My favorite childhood book is Elmer by David McKee!

Jina Jue

Main Office Coordinator

jjue@first5ventura.org

If you have questions such as accessing Neighborhoods for Learning services, Requesting Community Outreach Materials, or would like to Schedule an In-Person Appointment, please email Jina Jue.

My favorite childhood lullaby –Arirang  (Korean)

Christina Saenz

Fiscal Administrator

fiscaladministrator2@
first5ventura.org

If you have questions about Employee-related payments, please email Christina Saenz.

My favorite childhood book is If You Give a Mouse a Cookie by Laura Numeroff!

Neighborhoods for Learning

If you have questions about the strategic direction of the Neighborhoods for Learning program or general questions about the Parent and Child Together classes, please email NfL@first5ventura.org.

We are currently offering in-person PACT classes. Our next cohort will begin in March 2023, to enroll please complete our online interest form by clicking here. If you have specific questions about our PACT classes, please send our NfL specialists an email. If you need to meet in person, you may schedule an office visit by emailing NfL@first5ventura.org.

Call 805-869-1317 to leave a message in the general mailbox.

Jhoelle Aspuria-Arca

NfL Administrator

Fillmore, Santa Paula, Saticoy, Ojai, & Ventura 


jaspuria@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is King Midas and the Golden Touch retold by Freya Littledale! 

Shelby Ferns, M.A.

NfL Administrator

Thousand Oaks, Simi Valley, Moorpark, & Camarillo


sferns@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood activities are sensory games including water play! 

Lilia Gurrola

NfL Administrator

Oxnard & Port Hueneme 

Bilingual


lgurrola@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is La Cama de Mama/Mommy’s Bed by Joi Freed-Garrod and Joi Carlin! 

Tami Schupferling

Operations & Purchasing Administrator

tami@first5ventura.org

If you have questions about purchasing and operations related specifically to the NfL sites, please email Tami Schupferling.

Sandra Diaz

Senior Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


sdiaz@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin!

Juana Chaparro

Senior Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


jchaparro@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood activity is playing with edible applesauce playdough! 

Megan Switzler, M.A.

Senior Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

mswitzler@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Corduroy by Don Freeman!

Desiree Campos

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

dcampos@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood activity is going on nature walks!

Elizabeth Cervantes

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


ecervantes@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood song is “5 Little Speckled Frogs/Las Cinco Ranitas” by HooplaKidz! 

Joselyn Corado Cornejos, M.A.

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist 

Bilingual


jcornejos@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood game is freeze tag! 

Hope DeMoss

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

hdemoss@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is The Kindness Book by Todd Parr! 

Alexandra Dye

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

adye@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Love You Forever by Robert Munsch! 

Maria Olivia Espinola

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


mespinola@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood song is “Naranja Dulce”!

Christina Espinoza

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist, Home Visitor

Bilingual


cespinoza@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle!

Daisy Gomez

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


dgomez@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon! 

Jennifer Guzman

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


jguzman@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein!

Elisheva Hollis, M.A.

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

ehollis@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson! 

Erika Martinez

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual (Spanish) 


emartinez@first5ventura.org

My favorite activities as a child was painting on easel, dancing, and listening to music. 

Blanca Morales

Administrative Assistant

Bilingual


bmorales@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is The Little Red Hen by Lucinda McQueen! 

Sabrina Nuno

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

snuno@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Veronica Reynoso

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


vreynoso@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood lullaby is “Los Pollitos Dicen Pio Pio” by Musica ifantil! 

Marilyn Rincon

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


mrincon@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is La Oruga Muy Hambrienta/The Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle! 

Maria Tapia

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


mtapia@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood game was Lotería.

Charlotte Testorff

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual (Swedish)


ctestorff@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren!

Sharon Torres

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual


storres@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood activity was baking cookies with my mom.

Nancy Uribe

Administrative Assistant

Bilingual


nuribe@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Junie B. Jones Cheater Pants by Barbara Park! 

Margarita Valadez

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual (Spanish)


mvaladez@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is Snuggle Puppy, A Little Love Song by Sandra Boynton!

Chelsea Ventura

Early Childhood Family Support Specialist

Bilingual (Tagalog)


cventura@first5ventura.org

My favorite childhood book is The Monkey and the Turtle by Jose P. Rizal!

Translate »